SNAP Challenge Round 2. FIGHT

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPw-3e_pzqU

Why.

I never thought I would say these words again… For the next week I will be attempting the SNAP or food stamp challenge and live off a food stamp budget to raise awareness and discover insight about the difficulties of living on a food stamp budget.

I know. WTF am I thinking. Well what happened was I opened my big mouth and screwed the pooch. After the last challenge I brought up the idea of doing a GWU wide food stamp challenge to my project group in Jose Andres’ World on a Plate course and the group said yes.

I thought about not doing it this time around but the social pressure was overwhelming. An unbelievable amount of support from GWU including Mrs. Knapp, SPHHS, GW Urban task food initiative as well as DC Mayor Grey, Rep. Mcgovern, DC Central Kitchen etc… pretty much SHAMED me into acquiescence. 

The half page spread on the Hatchet with my mug didn’t help either. (Bad hair day to boot) Image

 

Honestly these past few weeks have been incredible in terms of the people I’ve been working with, the scope of the project, and the support we’ve gotten. 

 

Because I know you’re already sick of reading and there’s little point in me bitching again for another week many of the post will be focused on the Maco and Structural issues surrounding SNAP as well as criticisms of the challenge itself.

ImageThey will be over quickly. They will be entertaining, You will be educated. I am not your professor. 

Leave a comment