Martha’s Table Pt-1

Evening everyone!

I was lucky enough to volunteer at Martha’s Table (The most often confused of the DC homelessness/hunger organizations) had a very interesting experience. I plan on volunteer across the organization in various ways and will be writing about my experiences.

Full disclaimer- I know that the volunteering experience is only a small part of an organization. Speaking from experience, volunteers can be both burden and blessing so I very much appreciated being able to volunteer at such a storied organization on short notice.

Martha’s Table is a local organization that strives to support stronger children, families, and communities with four key programs: Healthy StartHealthy EatingHealthy Connections, and Emergency Support Services. With a 35 year history, the organization has done a great deal of good for the DC and surrounding community.

As a former chef, I felt the most natural place for me to start volunteering was in the Health Eating- AM shift. After arriving, I was briefly introduced to the mission and vision of Martha’s Table and quickly put to work chopping a 50lb bag of onions. It was different from what I expected. There was minimal interaction with Chef Flo, and the volunteers were set up in the dining room, outside of the kitchen, with a singular task. I wasn’t sure how the ingredients the volunteers were prepping were going to be incorporated into the evening meal or on McKenna’s wagon.

From what I was able to glean from the dining room, the quality of the meals seems very high. There was a plethora of fresh vegetables and delectable smells coming from the stoves and the kitchen was clean, professional, and organized!

Overall I was impressed with the kitchen program but wished there was a bit more of a connection between the prep work and the meal.

Next week, I’ll be volunteering across the other aspects of the organization both in McKenna’s Wagon and the thrift store!

Leave a comment