Food Challenge Day 5

Day 5

Its remarkable how quickly a person can get used to a situation. It’s only been 5 days and I find myself falling into the routine of cooking, packaging and portioning my meals for the day. I don’t want to say it’s become easy, because it hasn’t. I still feel the stress of making sure I have enough to last the week and preparing my meals accordingly. I still miss having a variety of ingredients to experiment and jazz up my dishes but its less of an ordeal it was even a few days ago.

One thing I do crave constantly is sweets. As many of my friends know, I have a massive sweet tooth especially for baked goods. I miss éclairs, cake, cookies all of it. Seeing the finish line hasn’t made it any easier. I find myself planning my feast meal after this challenge is over. True, there is a small bit of guilt knowing that I can go back and load my body with extremely unhealthy things as soon as the challenge is over. I don’t know how I will feel sitting in front of a dozen éclairs and a porterhouse. More than likely I will scarf everything down and possibly reflect on the week before I doze off into the inevitable food coma.

Is it right? Probably not. Will I enjoy that meal? You bet your ass I will. (Hey fatty, fatty, fatty) Hopefully I won’t fall into a sugar induced coma and possibly rupture my stomach, but I’ve always been a man of indulgences.

I can’t thank my parents enough for letting me go to culinary school. I wouldn’t have been able to survive till now without these skills. The stock, tomato sauce and homemade pasta have been manna from heaven. I can’t imagine doing this without my (albeit limited) skills. I rarely am grateful for the blessings in my life but this week has made me do so. (I doubt it will last.)

2 days to go. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment